top of page


The Crocker Innovation Fellows program was founded in 2011 and funded by Gary and Ann Crocker.


Gary L. Crocker is managing director of Crocker Ventures, LLC, a privately held life-science and high-technology investment firm. Since 2004 he has also served as chairman of Merrimack Pharmaceuticals. He has held senior executive or board director-level positions in several life-science and technology firms and is currently the chairman and sole investor in three orthopedic medical-device firms. In 1983, Gary founded Research Medical, and he served as the chairman and CEO of the company until it’s sale in 1997. Named Utah Entrepreneur of the Year by both EY and the MountainWest Capital Network, Gary serves as chairman of the Utah Youth Village and has served on the boards of trustees for the University of Utah, University of Utah Hospital, Utah Opera and Symphony, and Utah Technology Council. He earned his MBA at Harvard University and also graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in economics.


Ann Crocker currently serves as a director of the board of the Utah-based Sorenson Legacy Foundation, which provides support for a wide range of endeavors, including childhood education enhancement, arts-education training programs, STEM education initiatives, funding for disadvantaged or abused children and women, and funding for several major artistic nonprofit institutions. Additionally, Ann currently serves on the board of the Utah Shakespeare Festival and is a major advocate of the Utah Youth Village. Ann graduated from the University of Utah with a teaching degree. Gary and Ann have seven children.


"Just as energy is the basis of life itself, and ideas the source of innovation, so is innovation the vital spark of all human change, improvement, and progress."requires the courage to let go of certainties."



As this program has an interdisciplinary focus, we have a team of several professors from different disciplines that are experts in their field to help guide and mentor the students in the class.

Nile Hatch Business

Nile Hatch earned his Ph.D. at the University of California, Berkeley and is now an entrepreneurship professor at BYU.  He teaches innovation, entrepreneurship, and analytics in the Marriott School of Management.  He has written books on entrepreneurial innovation and entrepreneurship analytics. Nile’s research focuses on cognition and learning in innovation as determinants of entrepreneurial success and corporate agility. 

Chris Mattson Engineering

Christopher A. Mattson received his Ph.D. (2003) from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Prior to joining the faculty at BYU, Prof. Mattson was the Global Director of Engineering Design and Research at ATL Technology. He led the design of many electro-mechanical products used by over 15 million people worldwide. His is the recipient of a National Science Foundation CAREER award and has been awarded three US Patents.

Curt Anderson Law

Curtis Anderson recently joined the BYU Law School faculty after over 20 years of experience in private practice and as an in-house lawyer. Prior to teaching at BYU, Curtis was the general counsel of the Match Group, which is controlled by IAC/InterActiveCorp.  Before joining IAC, he was a partner at Baker Botts in Dallas, Texas. While in private practice, he was a transactional lawyer and advised public and private companies, venture capital funds and development stage companies.

Bryan Howell Industrial Design

Bryan received his MFA in Design from the University of Texas – Austin in 2005 and his undergraduate degree in Industrial Design from Brigham Young University in 1984. He started his professional career working with Frog design in Germany, California and Singapore. He then moved to Dell Computer in Austin where he worked in Design and Engineering Management. After receiving his graduate degree he successfully directed his own consulting business with clients in North America and Asia. He has been teaching at Brigham Young University since August of 2005.

Nile Hatch.jpg
Chris Mattson.jpg
Curt Anderson.jpg
Bryan Howell.jpg
bottom of page